top of page

Flea market treasure finds part 1

Going to flea markets is one of my favorite things to do! I’m one of those persons that like to be there early to find the “good” stuff. Some might say I’m a hoarder but I call it a passion haha. Over the years though I learned a lot about going to flea markets. How to get a good price, how to approach certain people and how to see if it’s a good piece or just plain crap.

So not that long ago I visited two flea markets. One was in Mesch, remember the land market post? The other one was in the village where my parents live. It’s a very small flea market but oh so fun to go to and actually the place where I found most of my stuff and boy I did found a lot of stuff!

The stuff I usually look for are ,for me, useful, either for right now or the near future.

So this is part one of my flea market treasures!

On both flea markets I found these beautiful cake/ pie platters. I so so so love them! The patterns, the colors, the flowers, the old cracks in it. EVERYTHING! What I would like to do is use them for a high tea or a different dinner party and maybe in the future, if I have a big old kitchen, I would hang them up!

Then I also found cute cake tins shaped in a bunny, a bear and a bell. I also this small one, shaped like a Christmas tree. It’s not per se a vintage item but I definitely will use them for fun occasions like a birthday! Speaking about birthdays, my parents would always bake a bear cake for my sister and me when we were little. Oh the sweet memories.

Next is this beautiful silver platter and these old spoons. It is so beautiful detailed. All the fine lines, shaped like flowers and such. Even the brim is beautifully decorated. The spoons are a work of art as well! Even though both items are silver and you need to polish silver, I’m not going to do that. I find the dark stains for both these items fitting. It gives it more character.

No I’m not addicted to buying old boxes. No, my plan is to find a bunch of these and sell them! I believe they make a great gift and you can use them to store a bunch of stuff like jewelry, make up, tea bags etc.. Quick tip! You can even use them as flower pots! I ran out of flower pots one day and so I used the Paddington cans, stuffed them with some plastic and left the flowers in their original plastic containers. It looks cute right?

Last but not least is this beauty! It’s this beautiful old rocking chair. I told my mom before I wanted to have a rocking chair. I can see myself sitting in Texas somewhere with Chris outside on the porch in a rocking chair. So when I saw this one on the flea market, I told my mom I HAD to get it. At first the price was too expensive and so we left it alone, we came back a little later and it was still pricy. Later on though the lady who was selling the chair came over to my parents’ house and sold me the chair for a cheap price! Now my plan with this chair is to give it a makeover. As you can see it’s a bit damaged and so I want to replace the seating and the back with some nice fabric!

Let me know what your favorite flea market treasure is!

Love,

bottom of page